MINExpo Takes Center Stage


Billed as the world’s largest mining show, MINExpo International 2016 kicks off Sept. 26 at the Las Vegas Convention Center. The show is sponsored by the National Mining Association.

“MINExpo 2016 is showcasing real technologies, advancements, innovations and solutions that will impact the bottom line of mining companies today – and into the future,” said Caterpillar Inc. Group President Denise Johnson, chair of the event.

“It is a world of innovation in one place,” show organizers said. “It is the largest show of its kind in the world and draws a truly international audience representing all major mining regions of the world. MINExpo 2016 will feature more than 800,000 sq. ft. of exhibit space, 12 indoor and outdoor halls and more than 1,800 companies. MINExpo is also about engaging with experts on the show floor and in education sessions to help you solve the challenges you face daily and the ones you see on the horizon.”

Aggregates producers can seek ways to increase productivity, control costs, keep operations competitive, improve safety and manage risk with all the new equipment, services, products and technology on the show floor at MINExpo.

Global mining industry leaders will participate in a spcial Opening Session as they come together to debate the issues of the day, provide perspectives on industry challenges and share visions and insights for the future.

Panel members will include:

  • Phillips S. Baker, Jr., president and CEO, Hecla Mining Co.
  • Harry M. “Red” Conger, president and COO – Americas and Africa Mining, Freeport-McMoRan Inc.
  • Kevin S. Crutchfield, CEO, Contura Energy, Inc.
  • Ted Doheny, president and CEO, Joy Global Inc.
  • Gary Goldberg, president and CEO, Newmont Mining Corp.
  • Denise C. Johnson, group president for resource industries, Caterpillar Inc., and Chair, MINExpo International 2016

There will be 20 additional education sessions will tackle the most timely and pressing issues affecting the mining industry, with many of the industry’s top professionals leading the discussions.

The National Mining Hall of Fame (NMHF) will induct four new members at its 29th Annual Induction Banquet and Ceremony prior to the show. This year’s inductees represent many sectors of the U.S. mining industry including exploration and extraction, environmental stewardship, management, education and research and development.

These individuals were selected for being leaders, innovators, authors, mentors, and philanthropists whose contributions have had significant and lasting impacts on the mineral and mining industry.

Stanley Dempsey, Dr. Haydn H. Murray, William N. Poundstone, and Robert S. Shoemaker will join 232 other mining industry honorees when formally inducted into the National Mining Hall of Fame on Sept. 24, 2016 at Caesars Palace.

Also being recognized, the Women’s Mining Coalition will be presented the Prazen Living Legend of Mining Award in recognition of 24 years of advocacy with legislators and federal agencies sending the message, “A strong mining industry is vitally important to our nation, our communities, our families and our livelihoods.”

Additionally, retiring NMHF Board of Governors Stanley Dempsey, Tom Falkie, Siegfried Muessig and Harrison Schmitt will be honored for their service to the mining hall of fame.

For more information on the show, go to: www.minexpo.com.

Related posts