Badger Mining Presents Scholarships

Since 1986, Badger Mining has been funding a scholarship program for students intending to pursue a degree in mining engineering, other engineering curricula, or environmental science.

Each year, five $10,000 scholarships are awarded to five deserving students in each of the communities in which BMC has an office or production facility. Two students are chosen from Area A, which includes the Markesan, Green Lake, Princeton, Ripon, and Rosendale-Brandon school districts. Two students are chosen from Area B, which comprises of the Blair-Taylor, Black River Falls, and Alma Center school districts. One student is chosen from Area C, which covers the Berlin Area School District.

The nominees for the Badger Mining Corp. 2016-2017 Scholarship awards have been received, selected and awarded.

In Area A, the recipients are Drew Muehlenhaupt from Markesan High School and Chris Lyke from Ripon High School. Muehlenhaupt has chosen to major in biomedical engineering at the Milwaukee School of Engineering. Lyke has chosen to major in engineering at Dartmouth College.

In Area B, the recipients are Deven Lien from Blair-Taylor High School and Jack Wirtz from Black River Falls High School. Lien will be majoring in electrical engineering at the University of Wisconsin–Platteville. Wirtz will major in engineering at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

In Area C, the recipient is Clinton Ottman. He will be majoring in environmental engineering at Michigan Technological University.

Related posts