Aggregates Operations Earn Sentinels of Safety Awards

In a ceremony in Washington, D.C., the National Mining Association (NMA), the U.S. National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health and the U.S. Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement honored outstanding achievements in mine safety and technology.

NMA’s Sentinels of Safety Award recognizes mining operations in 10 categories for recording the most hours in a calendar year without a single lost-time injury. A minimum of 4,000 hours is required for award consideration. The award categories reflect the safety accomplishments of both small and large mines.

“The extraordinary safety accomplishments of these companies serve as a model for all of industry, which is united behind a rigorous dedication to a culture of continuous improvement,” said Rich Nolan, NMA president and CEO. “Every mine in this country understands that the complex work we do requires constant vigilance and, through steadfast leadership, strong systems and an ingrained culture of safety, today’s honorees have achieved the ultimate goal: providing a safe environment for their employees.”

Nonmetal honorees included:

Large Group Category
Large Bank or Pit, All American Aggregates, All American Asphalt, Corona, Calif.
Large Dredge, GEN 6 Proppants LLC, Mansfield, La.
Large Quarry, Pennsuco Quarry, Titan America, Medley, Fla.
Large Underground Nonmetal, Intrepid Potash East, Intrepid Potash-New Mexico, Carlsbad, N.M.

Small Group Category
Small Bank or Pit, Minnesota Portable #1, Martin Marietta, Maple Grove, Minn.
Small Dredge, Raccoon River Sand & Gravel, Martin Marietta, Des Moines, Iowa
Small Metal/Nonmetal Mill, Laurel Quarry, Lehigh Hanson, Somerset, Ky.
Small Open Pit, Minnesota Reclamation Crew, Martin Marietta, Maple Grove, Minn.
Small Quarry, Portable Crusher, ROBCO Inc., Grants Pass, Ore.
Small Underground Nonmetal, Pride of America Mine, Colorado Stone Quarries, Marble, Colo.

In addition, NIOSH also recognized winners with its annual Mine Safety and Health Technology Innovation Awards. Honorees are selected due to the significant advancements they have made to enhance mine safety by applying technology or improved processes in innovative ways.

Initiated in 1925 by then Commerce Secretary Herbert Hoover, a former mining engineer, the Sentinels of Safety Award program remains the nation’s most prestigious recognition of mine safety and has helped foster a strong safety commitment on the part of U.S. mines.

Related posts