CalCIMA Announces 2022 Excellence in Safety Awards Winners

The California Construction and Industrial Materials Association (CalCIMA) announced its 2022 Excellence in Safety Awards winners at its Education Conference in La Jolla, Calif. These awards acknowledge the exceptional work and contributions to safety in regard to leadership, innovation, commitment and impact beyond the plant.

“The awards celebrate well deserved recognition for individuals and facilities among the CalCIMA Membership for their accomplishments protecting employee health and safety. The companies and persons who have earned the awards have visibly demonstrated and proactively taken steps to improve safety for their employees,” said Meghan Neal, environment safety and health manager at P.W. Gillibrand Co. and co-chair of the CalCIMA Safety and Health Committee. “Their collective efforts have created a culture of safety that is worthy of recognition. The Safety Awards provide the perfect opportunity to acknowledge those achievements,” said Neal.

The Excellence in Safety Awards honor different categories of mines and plants, such as aggregate, asphalt and concrete, as well as a special recognition award. The winners are:

  • Large Aggregate Mine: Big Rock Aggregate Facility – Granite Construction Co. Inc. in Llano.
  • Small Aggregate Mine: Highway 175 Quarry – Granite Construction Co. Inc. in Lakeport.
  • Asphalt Plant: Bradshaw Asphalt Concrete Plant – Granite Construction Co. Inc. in Sacramento.

There are also individual winners who have demonstrated that they prioritize and practice safety every day. The winners are:

  • Safety Professional Award: Dean Browning, Holliday Rock.
  • Safety Professional Award: Josh Peterson, Granite Construction.

The Safety Awards were presented by Meghan Neal of P.W. Gillibrand. Safety Award winners are chosen based on an essay describing what’s occurring at the plant, and a panel of judges from CalCIMA’s Safety and Health Committee review and choose the winners.

“We are proud of all the Excellence in Safety Award recipients. It is a great testament to their dedication, commitment, and ingenuity in meeting the demands of safety while producing aggregates, minerals, concrete, and asphalt,” said Robert Dugan, CalCIMA CEO/president. “We are an essential yet challenging business. Each and every one of our recipients personifies the commitment to getting our workers home to their families at the end of each day.”


  • The Benjamin J. Licari Distinguished Member Award was presented to Danny Deveraux, CalPortland, for his years of leadership with CalCIMA and prior organizations.
  • The President’s award went to Steve Lode, National Ready Mixed Concrete Co., and Tim Reed, Vulcan Materials, for their efforts to advance concrete and asphalt issues respectively within the association.
  • Chris Iaccio from CEMEX was recognized with the Spirit of the Industry Award for his tireless efforts to bring industry and regional issues to the forefront.
  • Associate Member of the Year Award went to Adam Guernsey from Harrison, Temblador, Hungerford, and Guernsey for his diligence in litigating the western Joshua tree.

Related posts