Acosta Confirmed as Secretary of Labor

The U.S. Senate has confirmed Alexander Acosta to be the next Secretary of Labor. Democratic senators Catherine Cortez-Masto (Nev.), Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.), Angus King (Maine), Joe Manchin (W.Va.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Bob Menendez (N.J.), Bill Nelson (Fla.), Jon Tester (Mont.) and Mark Warner (Va.) joined with all Republicans to confirm Acosta by a vote of 60-38. 

Acosta was previously confirmed three times by the Senate for other positions, including a member of the National Labor Relations Board, chief of Justice Department civil rights division and the U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Florida.

Michael W. Johnson, National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association (NSSGA) president and CEO, said that the association has continuously voiced support for Acosta for the position.

“His appreciation for appropriate government action ensures that someone with the knowledge of the issues impacting our industry including the negative impacts and unintended consequences of government regulations is at the helm of the department,” Johnson said in a February letter to the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee.

With Acosta’s confirmation, President Trump’s cabinet will be fully assembled. Most importantly, the Senate can now proceed with confirmations throughout the Department of Labor, including the head of Mine Safety and Health Administration. NSSGA will continue to push for someone with a strong aggregates background to bring a deep understanding of the industry and needed reforms to the agency.

Related posts