NSSGA Announces Annual Gold Award Winners

The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) announced the Gold, Silver and Bronze winners of NSSGA’s Safety, Environmental and Community Relations Excellence Awards. Also announced were winners of the association’s top honor, National Stars of Excellence, for operations that accumulate Gold Awards in Safety, Environmental or Community Relations over a five-year period.

The awards program recognizes aggregates operations throughout the United States and Canada for their extraordinary commitment to safety, for their superior performance as environmental stewards and for their community involvement and support activities that have enhanced the image of the aggregates industry during 2012-2013. The Stars of Excellence and all Gold Awards in each category will be presented at NSSGA’s 2014 Annual Convention in Las Vegas, Nev., at the Encore hotel on Tuesday, March 4.

Stars of Excellence Recipient Winners

  • Grove Stone and Sand Co., Hedrick Industries, Black Mountain, N.C.; Tilcon/Mt. Hope Quarry, Tilcon New York Inc., an Oldcastle company, Wharton, N.J.

Gold Award Winners
Safety Excellence Award Winners

  • Tilcon Connecticut Inc., an Oldcastle company; Southington Sand and Pit, Southington, Conn. (small category); Vulcan Materials Co., Dalton Quarry, Dalton, Ga. (medium category); Martin Marietta Materials, Kentucky Avenue Mine, Carmel, Ind. (large category).

Sterling Safety Award Winners

  • Iddings Quarry, Inc., Mifflinburg, Pa. (small category); Aggregates Industries, Bedford, Mass. (medium category); CalPortland Co., Glendora, Calif. (large category).


  • Balcones Quarry, Cemex, New Braunfels, Texas; Beckman Quarry, Martin Marietta Materials, San Antonio, Texas; Charlottesville Plant, Luck Stone, Charlottesville, Va; La Luz Sand & Gravel Mine, Cemex, La Luz, N.M.; McKelligon Canyon Quarry, Cemex, El Paso, Texas; Tilcon/Mt. Hope Quarry, Tilcon New York Inc., an Oldcastle company, Mt. Hope, N.J.; Onoway Aggregates, Lafarge Canada, Onoway, Alberta; Rutherford Quarry, Rogers Group Inc., Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Community Relations

  • Stoneco Inc. Auglaize Quarry, The Shelly Company, an Oldcastle company, Oakwood, Ohio; Brooksville Quarry, Cemex, Brooksville, Fla.; Grove Stone and Sand Co., Hedrick Industries, Black Mountain, N.C; Tilcon/Haverstraw Quarry, Tilcon New York Inc., an Oldcastle company, Haverstraw, N.Y.; Manassas Quarry, Vulcan Materials Co., Manassas, Va.; Tilcon/Oxford Quarry, Tilcon New York Inc., an Oldcastle company, Oxford, N.J.; Stoneco Inc. Scott Quarry, The Shelly Co., an Oldcastle company, Convoy, Ohio; Whites Creek Quarry, Rogers Group, Inc., Gallatin, Tenn.

NSSGA Chairman of the Board Ward Nye, Martin Marietta Materials, Raleigh, N.C., said, “I congratulate each of these operations for their commitment to outstanding corporate citizenship and support of their communities. Ours is not an industry that the average citizen spends a great deal of time thinking about. Most take for granted the natural materials and resources that are essential for our nation’s safety, security and high quality of life. These award-winning facilities, and the dedicated employees who work there, remind us of the critical and irreplaceable role the aggregates industry plays in contributing to our economy and society and to a sustainable America.”

“The 2013 entries were impressive,” said NSSGA President and CEO Michael Johnson. “We had the strongest participation in years for the NSSGA Safety, Environment and Community Relations Awards Program, as applications increased by 57 percent compared with 2012. Our members continue to demonstrate their commitment to the aggregates industry and their communities by promoting safe and healthy working conditions, by recognizing the importance of environmental stewardship and by maintaining active community relations programs with their neighbors. This year, we are pleased to recognize two of our members with the Stars of Excellence award.”

NSSGA’s National Stars of Excellence Program began in 2001 and is presented to those operations earning two or more of any of the following gold awards over a five-year period: Safety Excellence, Environmental Excellence and Excellence in Community Relations. Each operation is awarded a number of stars corresponding to the number of Gold Awards won. A Three-Star Award winner is NSSGA’s Sustainability Award recipient – the highest award that can be achieved by an operation from the association.

The Sterling Safety Award was created in 1994 to recognize the companies that have the lowest total accident incidence rate for the previous year in their category among NSSGA member companies. The Safety Excellence Program was created in 1987 to promote safe working conditions and practices and to recognize, on an annual basis, individual operations with exemplary safety records among NSSGA member companies.

The Environmental Excellence Awards Program was created in 1992 to provide national recognition for aggregate producers that meet and exceed technical, environmental and regulatory requirements.

The Excellence in Community Relations Program was created in 1989 to recognize aggregate producers whose community involvement and support activities have enhanced the public’s perception of the aggregates industry in general and the public image of the individual producer’s aggregate operation in particular.

Related posts