NSSGA Presents James M. Christie Safety Award to Robin Markussen

The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) named Robin Markussen, director of Occupational Health & Systems at Lehigh Hanson, as the winner of the 2020 James M. Christie Safety & Health Professional of the Year. Markussen has been a valued member of the NSSGA Safety and Health Committee and the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC).

Robin Markussen

On the job at Lehigh Hanson, she has been an integral part of addressing COVID-19. Markussen has worked to identify innovative ways to help protect workers since the onset of the pandemic. Additionally, this summer she was a speaker at NSSGA webinars discussing best practices on how to handle COVID-19 in the workplace. She also spearheaded efforts and lead the industry in working with MSHA on issues such as the upcoming Respirable Crystalline Silica rule and other occupational health topics.

“We are pleased to recognize Robin Markussen for her leadership and contributions to the health and safety of the industry,” said NSSGA President and CEO Michael Johnson. “With her subject matter expertise, we are thankful for her work to lead the industry in best practices during this current pandemic as well as continue to work with MSHA on specific regulations that affect every operation’s way of business.”

Started in 1987, the James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year Award is named for James M. Christie who challenged the young MSHA agency to focus regulations on the safety practices of manager and worker behavior; and not strictly on a facility’s conditions. Now, NSSGA recognizes individuals for substantial commitment and contributions to safe and healthy practices within their company – and the industry.

Related posts